And So It Begins

(Excerpt from RE:MESSIAH)

Feigning interest, FAITH turns to the stranger at the bar.

FAITH
So what do you do Mr….?

JOHN
John!

FAITH
John?

JOHN
Mr. John.

FAITH
Ok… Mr. John. So what do you do?

JOHN
Uh, you’re looking at it.

FAITH
Not very exciting is it.

JOHN
…I don’t know.

Her lack of interest is becoming more apparent.

FAITH
What else do you do?

JOHN
I like surfing the net. Buying stuff on Ebay. Um…blogging.

FAITH now only has eyes for him.

FAITH
You write your own BLOG?

JOHN nods his head.  FAITH bites her lip.

FAITH
How many times a day?

JOHN
Oh, you know. The usual.

FAITH has gone from complete disinterest to actively captivated.

(Excerpt Ends)

That’s an exchange from one of my old student short films- RE:MESSIAH.   Over the years my view on blogs has corresponded to that of Faith (don’t fret, in the film that name is intentionally meant to be a gag-inducing cliche) in a way.  If you had asked me years ago, a blog was an incredibly narcissistic affair where the writer involved would just prattle on & on so people could read & worship his/her “amazing  thoughts”(lol, I’m certain I’ll do that on this website).  But, if you asked me today a blog would come across as a fun affair.  It’s a way to express your ideas, talk about your work, life, & view on popular entertainment.  Is it still  narcissistic?  Oh hells yes.  Yet, at the same time the only people who are going to read this are the people who really matter in my life or those who do care about my outlook on things (whoever the hell those weirdos may be).   It’s a far more rewarding way to share ideas than Facebook or Twitter that’s for sure.

Anywho, I can’t promise this blog is going to get much action but for a while, whenever something interesting to write or share sparks my interest (whether personal or professional) I’ll be certain to write it down here first.  Have a great day!

 

 

Leave a comment